On December 1, 2023, Google will delete certain Gmail accounts. Which ? Are you affected? How to avoid having your account deleted? Update on the approach of the American giant.
Some users are starting to worry. Since May, Google has warned that certain Gmail accounts, as well as all their data, will be deleted from December 1st. These accounts being linked to Google Drive, this will involve the loss of emails, but also docs or drive documents, the calendar and photos from Google Photos.
Rest assured, the targeted accounts are inactive accounts, i.e. those that have not been used for 2 years. No need to panic.
To save your account, all you need to do is log in at least once every two years. Several actions allow you to show signs of activity, recalls Commentçamarche.net :
- read or send an email with Gmail,
- use Google Drive
- watch a video on YouTube
- download an app from the Google Play Store
- do a Google search…
- use an Android device connected to the account in question,
Google will not delete any account without notifying the user, as Cnews reminds us. The Mountain View firm has indicated that it will start with the accounts created, which have never been used. Once an account has been deleted, it will no longer be possible to keep the same username to create a new one. Google has therefore called for great vigilance on the part of its users.